Honoring FSU’s Fab 40

Ferris volleyball celebrates 40th anniversary with all-time team

BIG RAPIDS — The Ferris State University women’s volleyball program will celebrate its 40th season of intercollegiate competition this fall.

In recognition of the 40th season, the Bulldogs will kickoff the campaign with a special “40th Anniversary Celebration” banquet on Friday, Aug. 10, at CK’s Place near Big Rapids. The event begins with a social hour at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner and the banquet program at 6:30 p.m.

ALL-TIMER: FSU middle hitter Kristy Gilchrist was one of 10 former players named to the program’s all-time team. The rest of the team will be announced periodically in the coming weeks. (Pioneer file photo)

As part of commemorating the 40th anniversary, an all-time team recognizing the “Top 40 Bulldog Volleyball players Of The First 40 years” will be announced over the course of the next four weeks leading up to the Aug. 10 event. The honorees will be unveiled via press release at www.FerrisStateBulldogs.com and will be recognized at the celebration banquet.

The 40 players named to the all-time team were chosen by a special committee consisting of former Bulldog head coaches, who include Marilyn Clark (1973-74), Monica Folske (1975-79), Kathy DeBoer (1980-83) and Jill Hirschinger (1984-95) along with current FSU head coach Tia Brandel-Wilhelm (1996-present).

Together, the five head coaches have led the Bulldogs to 32 winning seasons, 16 NCAA Tournament appearances and 10 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Championships. FSU has compiled an all-time record of 819-452 (65 percent) since the program’s inception in 1973.

“This is a tremendous opportunity to celebrate one of the outstanding programs in the country,” said Brandel-Wilhelm. “There have been many great student-athletes who’ve helped this program achieve success over the years and it was extremely difficult to narrow it down to these 40 individuals. They are all truly noteworthy players.”

The list of 40 all-time players will be announced periodically thru Aug. 10 with 10 named each week based on alphabetical order.

For more information on the “40th Anniversary Celebration” banquet, please contact Athletics Advancement Officer William Goode at (231) 591-3818 or via email at goodew@ferris.edu.


Listed below are the first 10 (A-G) named to the All-Time Team

along with a few notes on their career accomplishments:

1. Danielle Baucher (2003-06) – Outside Hitter

Three-Time All-GLIAC, Three-Time GLIAC All-Academic Team, Two-Time All-Region, Team MVP

2. Janna Biggs (1985-88) – Setter

Four-Time All-GLIAC, Two-Time Team MVP, Three-Time All-Region, Two-Time GLIAC All-Academic Team

3. Lori Blair (1987-90) – Middle Hitter

Second-Team All-American (1990), Two-Time All-GLIAC, Two-Time All-Region

4. Morgan Buckner (1997-2000) – Outside Hitter

Two-Time GLIAC All-Academic Team, All-GLIAC, Also competed in track & field

5. Stephanie Chaffin (1989-92) – Outside Hitter

Second-Team All-American (1992), Two-Time All-GLIAC, Team MVP, GLIAC All-Academic Team, All-Region, FSU Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee

6. Laurie Diephuis Muller (1976-79)

First-ever All-GLIAC volleyball player,

7. Karla Fairbanks (2001-2004) – Outside Hitter

Two-Time All-American (2003-04), Two-Time All-GLIAC, Two-Time All-Region, Team MVP, GLIAC All-Academic Team, GLIAC All-Tourney Team,

8. Leigh Feenstra (1982-1983) – Middle Hitter


9. Gretchen Galloway (1992-1994) – Outside Hitter

All-GLIAC, GLIAC All-Academic, Team MVP

10. Kristy Gilchrist (2005-09) – Middle Hitter

Three-Time All-GLIAC, Team MVP



Leave a Reply