Ferris State fishing club remains successful

BIG RAPIDS — Ferris State’s fishing club has been enduring a busy summer.

This month, club members were slated to go to Wixom Lake for the second Michigan College Bass Circuit Tournament.

Coach Chuck Rathbun announced these are the teams for the tournament (boater-angler):

Alex Sinnaeve-Derek Nolin, Chris Oja-Chris Oja (by himself), Brandon Nastally-Garrett Gordon, Nathan Mills-Brian Borowicz, Derek Haller-Jacob Otto, Nikki Radford-Emily Paulson, Garette Lesh-Alex Liebertreu, Bryce Canada-Mason Houston, Shane Anstett-Tristan Sheteron, Zane Brodie-Grant Fry and Ross Chapin-Nate Wilson.

The team recently attended the Coldwater tournament

“It was overall a very poor location,” Rathbun said. “We also have a team going to the FLW (Fishing League Worldwide) Regional Qualifier on Lake Chataqua in New York. Chris Oja, a member of the Garmin National Team, and Derek Haller will be representing us (on Saturday).”

Rathbun is also a desktop support technician at Ferris State’sTechnology Assistance Center.

Chris Oja’s fishing success remains strong for Ferris State. (File photo)


Posted by John Raffel

John is a sports reporter with the Pioneer as well as the Herald Review and The Lake County Star. He also coordinates the weekly Pioneer sports outdoors page. He can be reached at (231) 592-8356 or by email at jraffel@pioneergroup.com.

Leave a Reply